skip to content Goto Site Search List of available accesskeys Goto Homepage - New Zealand Parole Board

Board Membership



Sir Ron Young - was Chief District Court Judge from 1993 until 2001, then a Judge of the High Court from 2001 until 2015. Currently a member of the Solomon Islands Court of Appeal and the Vanuatu Court of Appeal. Sir Ron was knighted for services to the judiciary in 2016. Appointed: 2018.

Panel Convenors

Judge Louis Bidois - was appointed a District Court Judge in July 2002. Judge Bidois’ tribal affiliation is to Te Arawa. Appointed: 2011

Judge Charles Blackie - was appointed a a District Court Judge in 1998, and has been Chief Justice of the Supreme Court of Pitcairn Island since 2000. Was made a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order (QSO) for services to the judiciary in 2017. Appointed: 2017

Martha Coleman - barrister with expertise in human rights and public law. Formerly a Crown Counsel in the Crown Law Office, she joined the independent bar in 2014. Appointed: 2014

Judge Michael Crosbie - was appointed to the District Court Bench in 2001, and served as Chairperson of the Wanganui District Prison Board from 2001 to 2003. Appointed: 2003

Phil Gittos QSO - District Court Judge 1994-2014. Was made a Companion of the Queen’s Service Order (QSO) for services to the judiciary in 2014. Appointed: 2014

Barry Lovegrove - District Court Judge 1995-2014. Appointed Chair of the Manawatu District Prison Board in 1997, and to the Parole Board in 2003. Appointed: 2017

Judge Jane Lovell-Smith - appointed District Court Judge in 1994 and chaired the Auckland District Prison Board. Appointed: 2002

Judge David Mather – appointed a District and Family Court Judge in 1997. Appointed May: 2012

Judge Neil MacLean - retired District Court Judge and former Chief Coroner. Received the Queens Service Order (QSO) in 2015. Appointed: 2017

Judge Eddie Paul - sworn in as a District Court Judge at Auckland in 2008. Appointed: 2010

Alan Ritchie -
barrister and solicitor. Executive Director NZ Law Society 1985-2008. Current Judicial Conduct Commissioner. Appointed: 2008

Kathryn Snook – is a barrister and solicitor with 20 years legal experience working in private practice and government including the Department of Social Welfare and the Office of Treaty Settlements. Appointed: 2011

Judge Arthur Tompkins - became a District Court Judge in 1997. Appointed: 2004

Neville Trendle – retired NZ Police 2001. Barrister and former consultant at the Law Commission. Appointed: 2008

Tania Williams-Blyth - senior family lawyer and has appeared as counsel in the District Court and Waitangi Tribunal. Appointed: 2014

Board Members

Associate Professor Philip Brinded – forensic psychiatrist in private practice. Appointed: 2004

Leith Comer - former senior army officer and Chief Executive of the Ministry of Maori Development. Currently Chairman of Te Mana o Ngati Rangitihi, Executive Director of the Excel Rotorua Education Trust, Chairman of Rotorua Contracting Limited and Trustee of the Fallen Heroes Trust. Appointed: 2014

Greg Coyle - currently Principal Advisor for the Salvation Army and has previously worked for the Tertiary Education Commission. His PhD is in the area of public policy. Appointed: 2017.

Grant Crowley - formerly a senior officer in the NZ Army he was recently chief executive of a law and a patent attorney firm. He now teaches part-time at Wellington College and sits on a number of boards. Appointed in 2015

Dr Sally Davis- Doctor of Clinical Psychology, practitioner and consultant with experience in mental health issues and a range of offending behaviours. Appointed: 2015

Sue Driver – is a consultant in areas of governance, management and evaluation. Appointed: 2012

Paul Elenio - more than 38 years experience in the newspaper industry, including as a reporter, editor, advertising and circulation manager and general manager. Appointed: 2014

Robert Gray – has a strong business management background leading several large companies and also been involved in key governance roles. He has advised Government and other public organisations on a range of issues and his experience includes a good knowledge of the criminal justice sector and experience in people profiling. Appointed: 2017.

Alan Hackney - a registered Clinical Psychologist with 30 years of practice across a number of settings including the justice sector, health, private practice and not for profit Christian organisations. Appointed 2016

Douglas Hauraki – has spent 40 years managing a variety of public and private sector positions. Former general manager and Chief Executive of the Maori Education Trust. Appointed: 2012

Glenda Hughes – a former Police Officer, with a degree in Sociology and Criminology. Appointed: 2010

Christopher King – is a clinical psychologist who has a background in New Zealand public prison management and prisoner rehabilitation.  From 2008 to 2014 he supported the establishment of the Vanuatu Corrections Service and Parole Board. Appointed: 2017

Bryan McMurray - retired from the New Zealand Prison Service in 2008. He has 37 years experience working with offenders in the criminal justice field, has managed prisons and held senior leadership and project manager roles in the Prison Service. Appointed: 2008

Mary More - is an experienced family lawyer, and a mediator.  She represented inmates before the Parole Board and is a former registered nurse.  Mary has experience in governance with community organisations, and in health advocacy. Appointed 2016

Michael Quigg – has many years leading a law firm. Michael is an experienced employment lawyer with a background in mediation, business, and assisting not-for-profit organisations.. Appointed: 2017.

Shannon Pakura - has been Professional Advisor for the Social Worker Registration Board, she has worked extensively in the child protection and youth justice sector, and was the former Chief Social Worker for Child Youth and Family. Appointed: 2008

Sam Perry - partner in law firms for 35 years and current consultant at Brandons. Governance experience in the community sector, including the Prisoners’ Aid and Rehabilitation Trust from 2010 to 2014. Apointed: 2015

Fiona Pimm – worked  in the health sector and for more than 30 years with primary care organisations, DHBs and Te Runanga O Ngai Tahu. Fiona’s interests are management and governance. Appointed: 2015

Paula Rose - former superintendent and national road policing manager who was in 2012 New Years honours awarded Companion of the Queen's Service Order, for services to the police and the community. Appointed: 2014

Dr Jeremy Skipworth - is a forensic psychiatrist and the head of the Mason Clinic. He has worked in forensic services since 1997, and was Deputy Director of Mental Health at the Ministry of Health 2003-2007. Appointed: 2008

Waimarama Taumaunu - is a former Silver Ferns coach; secondary school teacher; public service employment and governance experience in New Zealand and Great Britain.  Appointed 2016.

Lawrence Tawera - has completed 24 years with the NZ Probation Service in 2014 having worked in a variety of frontline operational and national management roles. Lawrence recently served as Chairman of a large scale iwi based Ahuwhenua (Farming) Trust located in the Central North Island, and has a commitment to iwi economic and community sustainability. Appointed: 2015

Jim Thomson - former probation officer and service manager responsible for home detention in Christchurch, and member of the Rolleston and Christchurch District Prison Boards. Appointed: 2002